The Last Days of Drawing Lab

Beginning with a blank canvas (um, literally) can be intimidating

Beginning with a blank canvas (um, literally) can be intimidating

Drawing Lab has been open in the UMFA for about three months now, and it never ceases to amaze me. Walking through the gallery, I am constantly thrilled and surprised by what I find left behind on the still-life drawing stations, the tape drawing station, the chalkboard wall, our exquisite corpse station, and on the table visitors have been asked to “vandalize” with their sketches.

One might think the only constant would be the enormous work by University of Utah art students entitled “I see the fish, finally,” since it has hung unchanged on gallery walls since its completion. But, strangely, this has not been the case: every time I look at this work I notice something new.

There is no wrong answer here.

There is no wrong answer here.

Just days before Drawing Lab opened, art students from the University of Utah were invited to collaborate on a work celebrating the radical act of drawing, and the work they left with us is truly fascinating.

Don’t see the fish? Actually, neither did I at first. It took watching the time-lapse video shot by the UMFA–to actually see the tiny step-by-step creation of the work–for me to truly begin to glimpse the fascinating details.

I see the fish, finally.

I see the fish, finally.

Drawing Lab closes August 25, 2013. I recommend that you see this again and again!

Check out the incredible time-lapse video HERE.

Leave a Reply

